Author Topic: Gauges.php. Floating images  (Read 3268 times)

Offline LW1DRJ

  • New member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • LW1DRJ - ARM BBS
Gauges.php. Floating images
« on: August 11, 2012, 10:30:03 AM »
Hi all:
I just installed Weather Sky and works great but I have a little problem I want to know how to solve.
On page gauges.php, images of direction, speed and distribution of wind sends my Cumulus mismatch in the center position. See this link for verification: http://www.lw1drj.com.ar/clima/gauges.php.
Can be solved?.
I tried changing some numbers in the code gauges.php but I can not "move" images.
Thanks in advance.
Daniel

Offline Mr.Meteo

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1116
    • http://www.meteostours.ca
Re: Gauges.php. Floating images
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2012, 12:14:10 PM »
Hi Daniel,

That problem is because your gauges aren't the good size.
This is probably due that your computer display has something special!

The only time I have see that problem was someone has put text zoom to 125%
in Windows. Cgeck your display properties!

Regards,
Jacques
Please, consider supporting this site 

Offline LW1DRJ

  • New member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • LW1DRJ - ARM BBS
Re: Gauges.php. Floating images
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2012, 07:06:56 PM »
Thanks for the reply but no, the display settings and graphics are the usual drivers. The screen resolution is 800 x 600 and text in the browser have the normal size. In another PC, the resolution is 1366 x 768 and looks the same. I have another problem. I'll keep investigating ... :-\

Offline Mr.Meteo

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1116
    • http://www.meteostours.ca
Re: Gauges.php. Floating images
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2012, 07:27:18 PM »
Hi Daniel,

You have found your problem!

You're using 800x600, but Cumulus use 1024x768! Then, gauges are smaller!
Other Pcs have nothing to do with that! Only Pc running Cumulus  is important,
as it is Cumulus that does "print-screens" on that too low resolution Pc.

Could you push your monitor up to 1024x768??

Regards,
Jacques
Please, consider supporting this site 

Offline LW1DRJ

  • New member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • LW1DRJ - ARM BBS
Re: Gauges.php. Floating images
« Reply #4 on: August 13, 2012, 03:35:34 PM »
Hi Jacques:

I changed various screen resolutions but the problem persists.
I have no doubt that the problem is on my pc (not the template or the Cumulus) because, on the other hand, the main screen of Cumulus, appears superimposed texts, as if "drawing" wrong information. I'm still investigating ...
Thanks and I promise to let you know when I solve the problem.

Daniel

Offline Mr.Meteo

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1116
    • http://www.meteostours.ca
Re: Gauges.php. Floating images
« Reply #5 on: August 13, 2012, 05:11:25 PM »
Hi Daniel,

If you are able to run 1024x768, that's the resolution you have to use.
You said that your Cumulus display is wrong, maybe you could investigate
your video card. A bad driver could cause this problem or a "broken" video card.

I had a problem with a 8500GT lately, all seems to work ok, but not with windows7
aero style, after having formatted my Pc twice I've changed that faulty video card
and all is ok now... but I lost 2 days with that!  :-[

Regards,
Jacques
Please, consider supporting this site 

Offline CrasHBoneS

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
    • http://meteobellaria.altervista.org
Re: Gauges.php. Floating images
« Reply #6 on: August 14, 2012, 10:00:53 AM »
http://www.meteobellaria.it/stazione1/gauges.php

I have the same problem, Cumulus is running on netbook (800x600)

Image are both 148x148px but compass.png image is "expanded" and fit the space, but windspeed.png is smaller then the space to fit

Offline CrasHBoneS

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
    • http://meteobellaria.altervista.org
Re: Gauges.php. Floating images
« Reply #7 on: August 14, 2012, 02:25:57 PM »
 another try I did is this:

I renamed compass.png to windgauge.png
I renamed windgauge.png to compass.png

In the web page are now in wrong position but original windgauge.png now renamed compass.png has been extended and fit perfectly the space

I don't know why, but gauges1 is extended and fit the space, gauges3 has the original size of 148x148 px

Offline LW1DRJ

  • New member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • LW1DRJ - ARM BBS
Re: Gauges.php. Floating images
« Reply #8 on: August 14, 2012, 02:42:35 PM »
Finally solved the problem!  ;D ;D ;D
I just replaced the monitor with one older and I had to adjust the parameters of the video because the pictures exceeded the screen.
Then I ran the Nvidia Settings program and focused all the screens at a resolution of 1024 x 768 and voila!: Gauges page appears normal and focused all their data.
I donĀ“t know why but evidently, Nvidia driver works differently depending on the monitor in use. ::)
Jacques and CrasHBones: Thanks for your comments which have been very helpful.
Daniel

Offline CrasHBoneS

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
    • http://meteobellaria.altervista.org
Re: Gauges.php. Floating images
« Reply #9 on: August 14, 2012, 03:22:37 PM »
I discovered why image of gauges3 is not expanded like the images of gauges1
I added the line in bold also in gauges3 and now the image of 148x148px is expanded

styles.css

#gauges1 {
   background: url(images/compass.png) 0px 0px no-repeat;
  background-size:190px 190px;
   width:200px;
   height:200px;
   float:left;
   margin: 24px 0px 0px 60px;
   padding-top: 10px;
}

#gauges3 {
   background: url(images/windgauge.png) 10px 0px no-repeat;
   background-size:190px 190px;
   width:200px;
   height:200px;
   float:left;
   margin: 24px 0px 0px 80px;

Offline Mr.Meteo

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1116
    • http://www.meteostours.ca
Re: Gauges.php. Floating images
« Reply #10 on: August 14, 2012, 04:41:23 PM »
Hi Crash,

I've tried this new CSS3 tag some times ago (and didn't remember it  ::) ), to see if itcause
problem in older browsers. but haven't heard anyone about this!
http://www.css3.info/preview/background-size/

I've let it in .css file but was intended more for big monitors with zoom causing too big gauges.
Shrink an image is usually no trouble for quality display... but to enlarge, how it display??

Thanks
Jacques
Please, consider supporting this site