Author Topic: Fsockopen problem  (Read 3001 times)

Offline Sjaak66

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • Wildervanker Weerstation
Fsockopen problem
« on: October 28, 2012, 05:19:47 AM »
First my thanks to all involved to this nice template/website.
I'm using Weather Blues for about one/two weeks now, and I must say it looks great.
Stil processing all the customizing stuff on my own site (http://weer.wheelnutz.nl). Url is temperarely until all is working ok then a new url will be launched.
Biggest problem I'm facing is my hoster which is blocking the fsockopen option which your manage.php is using.
Display errors are bloked on my site, but when on I'll see this error apering :
fsockopen() function.fsockopen unable to connect .......
Problem is that my hoster will not open this function  >:(.
Do you have an solution or do I just have bad luck.

Regards Jan

Offline Mr.Meteo

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1116
    • http://www.meteostours.ca
Re: Fsockopen problem
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2012, 07:26:23 AM »
Hi Jan,

I'm happy that Weather Blues pleased you!
For your problem with fsockopen(), I'm sorry, but a few number of members
have this problem with too restrictive provider.

In the "good old time", things were easy with direct commands like "fopen",
but hackers used these commands to broke websites, then a new config
parameter was introduced "allow_url_fopen". This new option restrict
direct use of file handling, also "Cross-domain" acces was restricted too!
This forbidden communication between 2 sites, even if these sites are yours
and are on the same server!

Then, as you see there is a lot of limitations now, to avoid hackers access
and block anonymous (public) access. Now, minimal secured way to do
a communication between sites are to use fsocketopen() as it is a way to
"identify" callers by its hardware. But your provider is not satisfied of this
level of security and want a step farther.. a login system!

As I want to keep update system access simple, I don't want to implement
that kind of security to continue to be as "user friendly" as I can! Then, follow
this forum as I always send post when something is new and keep .zip files
as "fresh" as I can.

Don't hesitate to send a post if I'm not clear enough on what file has changed!

Best regards,
Jacques
Please, consider supporting this site 

Offline Sjaak66

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • Wildervanker Weerstation
Re: Fsockopen problem
« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2012, 11:00:22 AM »
Hi Jaques,
Thanks for your swift reply. So basicly the only way is keep the files updated is manually for the time being ;). Ok that'll do for the time being.

I have another problem with the hands of my clock or better said no hands. As far as I know all rights are ok on the server. Is there anything else I may forget ?

Regards Jan
 

Offline Mr.Meteo

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1116
    • http://www.meteostours.ca
Re: Fsockopen problem
« Reply #3 on: October 28, 2012, 11:41:31 AM »
Hi Jan,

I see that your scripts files are visible from index page, but daynames has been
removed from your index page! You need these lines just before </head>:

<script type="text/javascript">
   var dayname = new Array('<?php echo $Tr_sun."', '".$Tr_mon."', '".$Tr_tue."', '".$Tr_wed."', '".$Tr_thu."', '".$Tr_fri."', '".$Tr_sat."', '".$Tr_sun; ?>');
</script>

These are the day names translated. If you remove it, you'll broke the clock script.

Regards,
Jacques
Please, consider supporting this site 

Offline Sjaak66

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • Wildervanker Weerstation
Re: Fsockopen problem
« Reply #4 on: October 28, 2012, 01:56:53 PM »
Super that did the job for the hands. Buts I didn't remove them strange.
Do I need to change something in my .htacces file to hide the scripts ?

Offline Mr.Meteo

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1116
    • http://www.meteostours.ca
Re: Fsockopen problem
« Reply #5 on: October 28, 2012, 03:59:28 PM »
Hi Jan,

Happy that this solve our problem! :)

For hiding script, I must admit that I'm not a .htaccess geek. >:(
And as this script contain no sensitive data or access code, I'm not affraided of it.

Regards,
Jacques
Please, consider supporting this site 

Offline Sjaak66

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • Wildervanker Weerstation
Re: Fsockopen problem
« Reply #6 on: October 28, 2012, 04:24:44 PM »
Hi Jan,

Happy that this solve our problem! :)

For hiding script, I must admit that I'm not a .htaccess geek. >:(
And as this script contain no sensitive data or access code, I'm not affraided of it.

Regards,
Jacques

Neither am I, however I did some tweeking in the .htaccess and the folders without index should be denied now.
Thanks a lot for your help.

Regards Jan